Wait, Dark Chocolate Isn’t Vegan?

Before you dig into that dark chocolate, be sure to check the label.

Published Sept. 28, 2021.

With white and milk chocolate usually off the table thanks to their dairy content, most vegans reach for dark chocolate to satiate their cravings: But dark chocolate isn’t necessarily vegan either. Some bars contain small amounts of milk products such as whey, casein, or milk solids. Furthermore, they may be sweetened with conventional granulated sugar, which is sometimes processed with bone char, a product made with animal bones. To be sure that a dark chocolate is truly plant-based, check the label to see if the word “vegan” appears on the label.

Taste Test

Dark Chocolate

It’s easy to find a great snacking chocolate. But cooking is different: Choosing the right dark chocolate can make the difference between a dessert that’s flawless and one that’s a flop.
Read Our Review
Taste Test

(Very) Dark Chocolate Bars

We found a 90-percent bar with flavor that's more “beautiful” than bitter.
Read Our Review
Taste Test

The Best Vegan Chocolate Ice Cream

Today there are more vegan ice creams than ever before. Are any of them as good as traditional dairy ice cream?
Read Our Review

Sign up for the Cook's Insider newsletter

The latest recipes, tips, and tricks, plus behind-the-scenes stories from the Cook's Illustrated team.


This is a members' feature.